Rule 52 of the Delaware Supreme Court Rules provides for the requirements for admission to the Delaware Bar. The applicant for admission should be a person of good moral character and reputation. Applicant should be at least 21 years of age and have a law degree or equivalent from an American Bar Association approved law school. If an applicant was admitted to such a law school without having first received a baccalaureate degree or its equivalent from an accredited college or university, the applicant should submit a copy of the law school’s statement of considerations for admitting notwithstanding the absence of such a degree. Every applicant has to pass the Bar examination. The Bar Examination shall consist of the Multistate Bar Examination, two Multistate Performance Tests and 8 essay questions. An applicant must achieve a scaled score of not less than 85 on the Multistate Professional Responsibility Examination.
There are no separate requirements for out of state attorneys. The Bar exam is required of all applicants. Every applicant must have served a clerkship in the State of Delaware, at least for a five (5) months’ duration. Pursuant to Rule 4 of the Delaware Rules of Continuing Legal Education, every attorney should complete a minimum of 24 hours of Minimum Continuing Legal Education activities during each two-year period. Out of the 24 hours, a minimum of four (4) hours shall be of enhanced ethics. The Supreme Court along with the Board of Bar Examiners is responsible for regulating and administering admissions to the Bar.
Del. Sup. Ct. R. 52 Admission to the Bar – General
(a) Requirements for admission. — No person shall be admitted to the Bar unless the applicant shall have qualified by producing evidence satisfactory to the Board:
(1) Character and aptitude. — That the applicant is a person of good moral character and reputation and that the applicant possesses such qualities, aptitudes and disposition as fit the applicant for the practice of law.
(2) Preceptor. — That the applicant is vouched for by a member of the Bar of this State who shall have been in practice in the courts of this State for at least 10 years, and such person shall be designated as the Preceptor for such applicant.
(3) Age. — That the applicant is at least 21 years of age.
(4) College or university. — That the applicant has completed the pre-legal education necessary to meet the minimum requirements for admission to a law school that at the time of graduation was listed on the American Bar Association list of approved law schools. In the event that the applicant was admitted to such a law school without having first received a baccalaureate degree or its equivalent from an accredited college or university (the method of such accreditation to be determined by the Board), the applicant shall supply to the Board a copy of the law school’s statement of considerations in the applicant’s file or other supporting statement from the law school, satisfactory to the Board, setting forth the basis for the law school’s decision to admit notwithstanding the absence of such a degree.
(5) Law school. — That the applicant has been regularly graduated with a juris doctor degree or its equivalent from a law school which at the time of conferring such degree was listed on the American Bar Association list of approved law schools.
(6) Multistate Professional Responsibility Examination. — That the applicant has taken the Multistate Professional Responsibility Examination administered by the National Conference of Bar Examiners at such time as the Board shall determine and achieved such score as the Board shall determine.
(7) Bar examination. — That the applicant has been examined upon principles of law and equity and has been found by the Board based upon the applicant’s performance on such examinations to be qualified to practice as an attorney.
(8) Clerkship. — That the applicant has served a clerkship in the State of Delaware aggregating substantially full-time service for at least 5 months’ duration as follows:
Del. CLE R. 4 Education Requirements and Exemptions
(A) Minimum Continuing Legal Education Requirement.
(1) Each Attorney shall complete a minimum of 24 hours of actual instruction in approved continuing legal education activities during each two-year period.
(2) Of the 24 hours, a minimum of 4 hours shall be obtained from programs or portions of programs providing instruction in Enhanced Ethics.