Admission to Practice Law in North Carolina is laid down under North Carolina Admission to Practice Rule .0501 et seq. General Court of Justice is the admitting body for admission to the Bar and acts upon recommendation from Board of Law Examiners. The Board of Law Examiners was created for the purpose of examining applicants and providing rules and regulations for admission to the Bar. Any applicant to be licensed to practice law in North Carolina should have at least eighteen years of age as prescribed under Rule .0501. Pursuant to North Carolina Admission Rule .0702, an applicant applying to practice law should be graduated from a law school approved by the Council of the North Carolina State Bar or by the American Bar Association. Under North Carolina Admission Rule .1004, an applicant should pass the Multistate Bar Examination conducted by the Board. As enumerated in North Carolina Admission Rule .0502, an attorney practicing in another state of the United States including District of Columbia can be licensed to practice law in North Carolina without written examination if the applicant has been practicing for at least four out of the last six years prior to application in this state. An applicant admitted to practice law in the state of North Carolina, should complete 12 hours of approved continuing legal education during each calendar year. Of the 12 hours the attorney must at least complete two (2) hours to the areas of professional responsibility or professionalism.
N.C. Admission to Practice Rule .1004
Rule .1004. Scores.
(1) Upon written request the Board will release to an unsuccessful applicant the applicant’s scores on the bar examination.
(2) Upon written request of an applicant, the Board will furnish the Multistate Bar Examination score of said applicant to another Board of bar examiners, or like organization that administers the admission of attorneys into that jurisdiction.
N.C. Admission to Practice Rule .0702
Rule .0702. Legal education.
Every applicant applying for admission to practice law in the State of North Carolina, before being granted a license to practice law, shall prove to the satisfaction of the board that said applicant has graduated from a law school approved by the Council of the North Carolina State Bar or that said applicant will graduate within thirty (30) days after the date of the written bar examination from a law school approved by the Council of the North Carolina State Bar. There shall be filed with the secretary a certificate of the dean, or other proper official of said law school, certifying the date of the applicant’s graduation. A list of the approved law schools is available in the office of the secretary.
N.C. Bar Rules Subchap. 1D, Section D.1518
Section D.1518. Continuing legal education program.
(a) Each active member subject to these rules shall complete 12 hours of approved continuing legal education during each calendar year beginning January 1, 1988, as provided by these rules and the regulations adopted thereunder.
(b) Of the 12 hours
(1) at least 2 hours shall be devoted to the areas of professional responsibility or professionalism or any combination thereof
N.C. Admission to Practice Rule .0502
Rule .0502. Requirements for comity applicants.
Any attorney at law duly admitted to practice in another state, or territory of the United States, or the District of Columbia, upon written application may, in the discretion of the board, be licensed to practice law in the State of North Carolina without written examination provided each such applicant shall:
(1) File with the Secretary, upon such forms as may be supplied by the Board, a typed application in duplicate which will be considered by the Board after at least six (6) months from the date of filing; the application requires.